IRS News Release  
July 31, 1998

IRS Selects Electronic Tax
Administration Advisory Group

WASHINGTON - The Internal Revenue Service announced today that it has selected 17 people to serve on the first Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee. The committee will help the IRS plan its strategy for making electronic filing the preferred and most convenient method of filing tax and information returns. It will also provide an organized forum for discussion of electronic tax administration issues.

The IRS plans to hold an orientation meeting for committee members in September. The 17 members, all of whom are volunteers, represent a variety of viewpoints. Their backgrounds include tax services, software companies, non-profit associations, and financial and educational institutions. The selectees, who were chosen from an applicant pool of almost 100, are:

Fran Bartlett         -- Federal Liaison Services, Inc. 
Michael P. Boyle      -- Microsoft Corporation 
Margaret E. Drescher  -- American Association of Retired Persons 
Keith T. Dusenbery    -- Vermont State College 
Edward B. Feinstein   -- H&R Block Tax Services, Inc. 
Connie L. Grimes      -- Grimes Tax Filings 
Mary B. Harris        -- Jackson Hewitt Tax Service 
Yvonne D. Kirkendall  -- W.R. Kirkendall, EA 
Charles A. Lacijan    -- The Implementation Group
Frank L. Lanza        -- California Franchise Tax Board 
Robert 0. Lewis       -- Tax Back, Inc. 
Susan W. Martin       -- Grand Valley State University 
Isaac A. Nooe         -- South Carolina Department of Revenue
Bette Rice            -- Merrill Lynch 
Elizabeth M. Seymour  -- Wachovia Bank, N.A. 
William C. Shepard    -- Intuit, Inc. 
John A. Stauffer      -- Ceridian Corporation

"We are looking forward to working with this committee on our electronic filing strategies," said Robert E. Barr, IRS Assistant Commissioner for Electronic Tax Administration. "Its input will be of immense value in helping us understand and meet the needs of the taxpayer and practitioner communities." The committee will hold four two-day meetings each year. Two will be public meetings, and two will be private, working sessions. Members will serve a maximum of two years. Their duties will include research and recommendations about current or proposed policies, programs, and procedures.

Previous | Next

1998 IRS News Releases | News Releases Main | Home