IRS News Release  
September 10, 2004

IRS Grants Tax Relief for Florida Hurricane Victims

(Updated 9/13/04 to add 6 counties)

WASHINGTON - The Internal Revenue Service today announced special tax relief for Florida taxpayers in the Presidential Disaster Area that was struck by Hurricane Frances beginning Sept. 3, 2004. It also lengthened the extension period it had earlier granted for the disaster area counties struck by the storms Bonnie and Charley, most of which are also in the latest disaster area.

Taxpayers in either disaster area generally will have until Dec. 30 to file tax returns and submit tax payments. The IRS will abate interest and any late filing or late payment penalties that would apply.

“The severity of this hurricane season in Florida, compounded by multiple storms hitting the same counties, leads us to provide a longer period of tax relief than usual,’ IRS Commissioner Mark W. Everson said. “The special tax relief will give affected taxpayers until Dec. 30 to file and pay their taxes. The IRS wants to help during this difficult time.’

The Hurricane Frances disaster area consists of 42 counties: Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Lee, Levy, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie , Sumter, Union and Volusia.

Among the tax relief details:

  • The Federal Tax Deposit (FTD) Penalty Waiver Period for employment and excise tax deposits is Sept. 3-20, 2004.
  • The Extension Period for returns and other tax payments is Sept. 3 – Dec. 30, 2004.
  • The Disaster Designation for this area is “Hurricane Frances” — taxpayers mark certain relief-related forms with this designation in red.

Relief Provisions

Previous | Next

2004 IRS News Releases | News Releases Main | Home